Citing BiQ Analyzer

This program has been developed in a cooperation between the Max-Planck-Institute for Informatics and Saarland University, both situated in Saarbrücken, Germany.

If you use BiQ Analyzer for analyzing OxBiS/TAB-seq and similar assays please cite:


Becker, D., Lutsik, P., Ebert, P., Bock, C., Lengauer, T., & Walter, J. (2014). BiQ Analyzer HiMod: an interactive software tool for high-throughput locus-specific analysis of 5-methylcytosine and its oxidized derivatives. Nucleic Acids Research, 42 (Web Server issue), W501–7. doi:10.1093/nar/gku457

Full text.

If you use BiQ Analyzer for ordinary bisulfite sequencing please cite:


Lutsik, P., Feuerbach, L., Arand, J., Lengauer, T., Walter, J., & Bock, C. (2011). BiQ Analyzer HT: locus-specific analysis of DNA methylation by high-throughput bisulfite sequencing. Nucleic Acids Research, 39 (Web Server issue), W551–6. doi:10.1093/nar/gkr312

Full text.

If you use BiQ Analyzer "classic" for clonal bisulfite sequencing please cite:


Bock, C., Reither, S., Mikeska, T., Paulsen, M., Walter, J., & Lengauer, T. (2005). BiQ Analyzer: visualization and quality control for DNA methylation data from bisulfite sequencing. Bioinformatics (Oxford, England), 21(21), 4067–8. doi:10.1093/bioinformatics/bti652

Full text



BiQ Analyzer is a collaborative project of the following research groups:


Computational Biology & Applied Algorithmics, MPII, - Max Planck Institute for Informatics (Professor Thomas Lengauer).
University of Saarland Department of EpiGenetics, Saarland University (Professor Joern Walter).
CeMM Logo
CeMM, - Research Center for Molecular Medicine of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (Christoph Bock).


These people contributed to the development of BiQ Analyzer in different years:


  • Christoph Bock
  • Pavlo Lutsik
  • Daniel Becker
  • Adrian Mang


  • Stefanie Geisen
  • Georg Friedrich
  • Achim Büch


People who also contributed to BiQ Analyzer development:
  • Lars Feuerbach
  • Julia Arand
  • Peter Ebert
  • Juliane Perner
  • Sabine Reither
  • Martina Paulsen
  • Thomas Mikeska
  • Yassen Assenov
  • Sascha Tierling
  • Dirk Schuemacher